Melbourne Turns up the Heat and Gets into the Kitchen


Time Out Melbourne’s Food Awards, which celebrate the best restaurants, talent and value across the city, has announced the nominees for 2015.


The winners will be announced at the Awards ceremony on Monday 17 August at George Calombaris’s restaurant Gazi.


The nominees will be vying for a win across ten categories, including the coveted Restaurant of the Year and Best New Restaurant AwardsChef of the Year Award provides a much appreciated thank you (and ego-massage) to an individual Head Chef.

Screen Shot 2015-07-21 at 12.52.33 pm

Acknowledging the diversity of restaurants, there’s Best Fine Dining RestaurantBest Casual Dining Restaurant, and Best Bang for Buck Awards. The Legend Award pays homage to an industry stalwart, while Best Café applauds those places we frequent in the day time for caffeine and bites. The Hot Talent Award recognises the new generation of cheffing talent everyone should be watching, while the People’s Choice Award hands voting to the public for their opinion on who was the best restaurant of 2015.


Time Out Australia CEO Michael Rodrigues says, “The Time Out team dine out relentlessly so that they constantly know what’s going on in Melbourne’s incredible eating scene. Melbourne’s cafes and restaurants are world leaders in quality and creativity. This is our way of recognising the people and venues that bring us hungry folk amazing dishes… and to nurture a bit of healthy competition along the way.”


The Time Out Melbourne Food Awards ceremony will be emceed by Andrew McClelland, all-round funny guy and DJ behind club nights Yeh Yeh and Finishing School. Tickets to the awards night are available to the public, who are encouraged to come along and rub shoulders with their favourite chefs and restaurateurs. Appletiser Sparkling Apple Juice and Yenda Beer will be supplying awesome cocktails and beer on the night, with Cargo Crew Apparel also joining the party.


And the nominees are:


RESTAURANT OF THE YEAR                                                           CHEF OF THE YEAR

Kappo                                                                                                    Ryan Flaherty, Mister Jennings

Lucy Liu                                                                                                 Michael Lambie, The Smith, Lucy Liu

Minamishima                                                                                      Koichi Minamishima, Minamishima

Stokehouse City                                                                                  Scott Picket, ESP, Estelle, St Crispin

Supernormal                                                                                        Ben Shewry, Attica


BEST NEW RESTAURANT                                                                BEST FINE DINING RESTAURANT

Anchovy                                                                                                Attica

Elyros                                                                                                     Donovans

Estelle Bistro                                                                                       Flower Drum

Kappo                                                                                                    Minamishima

Lûmé                                                                                                      Maha


Mister Jennings                                                                                  LEGEND AWARD

Transformer                                                                                        Will be announced on the night


Tipo 00


BEST CASUAL DINING RESTAURANT                                          Kettle Black (South Melbourne)

Belle’s Hot Chicken                                                                            Mastic (Kew)

The Independent                                                                                Piggery Café (Burnham Beeches, Sherbrooke)

Longhorn Saloon                                                                                 Rudimentary (Footscray)

Magic Mountain Saloon                                                                    Sir Charles (Fitzroy)

Tipo 00


BEST BANG FOR BUCK                                                                     Botherambo

Hakata Gensuke (Melbourne)                                                         Captain Baxter

Lazerpig (Collingwood)                                                                     Chin Chin

RV1 Dosa Corner (Footscray)                                                          Gazi

Shandong Mama Mini (Melbourne)                                               Hutong Dumpling Bar

Tina’s Noodle Kitchen (Melbourne)                                               Lee Ho Fook

Nieuw Amsterdam


HOT TALENT AWARD                                                                      Saigon Sally

Blayne, Chayse & Tyson Bertoncello, O. My                               Tokyo Tina

Mauro Callegari, The Independent

Thi Le, Anchovy                                                                                    Open to public vote at

Adam Shoebridge, Bar Clarine

Shaun Quade and John Paul Fiechtner, Lûmé


The Time Out Food Awards are an industry-recognized celebration of talent, voted on by independent editors and reviewers.


Tickets are now on sale for Melbourne.


WHAT: Time Out Food Awards Melbourne
WHEN: Monday 17th August, 2015, 6.30 – 10.30pm
WHERE: Gazi Restaurant, 2 Exhibition St, Melbourne VIC 3000



Standard Tickets: $60 + BF (after Thursday 23 July: includes food, drinks, good times + a copy of TOFA issue worth $4.95)

Early Bird Tickets: $55 + BF (valid from Thursday 9 – Thursday 23 July)

VIP Tickets: $80 + BF (includes Time Out Melb subscription worth $34.95 + bonus bag on the night!)




Twitter: @TimeOutMel

Facebook: Time Out Melbourne

Hashtag: #TOFoodAwards

About The Author

Lisa Hollinshead
Editor & Director

Boss lady over here at Social 101. Lover of all things that inspire creativity, individuality and happiness! Former party gal, now mama to a beautiful baby boy!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.